Dr. Cornel West

Blue Note recording artist Terence Blanchard and the E-Collective's new release is titled Breathless. The very first cut sets the tone for the groups masterful work,  Terence opens with Compared To What, the Les McCann & Eddie Harris classic and vocalist PJ Morton adds a soulful touch to the lyrics. I love this band. The E-Collective features Oscar Seaton on drums, Donald Ramsey on bass, Fabian Almazan on keyboards and Charles Altura on guitar. Terence's offering of Talk To Me featuring Dr. Cornell West, speaks to the times we live in today.

WCLK Remembers Nelson Mandela

Dec 7, 2013

WCLK and all of our listeners and members fondly recall the life and legacy of Nelson Mandela.  Smiley and West devoted their December 7 program to memories of Mandela, including conversations with Ron Dellums, Maxine Waters, and Afre Woodard.

You can listen to that program on demand by clicking here.